5 Ohio Cities Decriminalize Marijuana


Five out of six Ohio cities that had local marijuana decriminalization measures on the Nov. 6, 2018, ballot have passed the initiatives, including in the state’s sixth-largest  city.

Decriminalization passed in Dayton, Fremont, Norwood, Oregon and Windham. Voters in Garrettsville rejected the local measure, though.

Currently, getting caught possessing up to 200 grams, or about 7 ounces, of cannabis is a misdemeanor in Ohio, punishable by a $150 to $250 fine and up to 30 days in jail, depending on the exact amount. These measures won’t affect state law, but it will help protect cannabis consumers in municipalities that approve the initiatives through local ordinances.

Here’s the Text of Each Measure.

PASSED—Dayton: “Shall the Dayton Revised Code of General Ordinances be amended to decriminalize specific misdemeanor marijuana and hashish offenses?”

PASSED—Fremont: “Shall the proposed Sensible Marihuana Ordinance which lowers the penalty for misdemeanor…


This is just an excerpt, please Click here to read content on original website.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This